Mission Wynne is Great…But HOW Do We Make A Difference? (E)

Yesterday I received an e-mail basically asking that very question. To be honest, it is the very question I have been asking since I began prayerwalking Monday morning.

Mission-Wynne is really GREAT. But what next? How can we truly make a life-long (and beyond!) difference in the lives of those who share the same zip code as we do in the same town that we all love?

How can we bring genuine shalom (see Jeremiah 29:7) to those addicted to drugs or those abusing alchohol? How can we stop the cycle of unwanted pregnancies and unwed mothers? How can we see a generation of men be raised to love God and be committed to their spouse and children? How can we help those who are being abused and have been being abused for an extended period of time? How can we aid with those who are truly living in poverty conditions? Not just a “One Shot Sam” approach, but a genuine commitment to provide a total shalom to all in our city?

Answer: I Don’t Know.

But I do believe God does. I believe He grieves infinitely worse than I do over these vices. I believe He has placed the believers who are here to be ‘radically intentional’ about making a difference in the lives of those who live here.

So, what to do? Pray. Ask. Seek. Knock. Beg. Listen. Fast.

I called the church this past Sunday to set aside lunch on Friday to fast and pray based on what God had shown us this week. I simply remind you of it. I am not sure exactly how to make a difference. I know we must. I know it’s not an option. I know God knows. I believe He will lead us. So let’s ask Him to for the good of the city of Wynne and the glory of His great name – may His kingdom come and may His will be done here in Wynne as it is in heaven.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on July 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

