Have You Ever Noticed? Take Two (T)

Yesterday, I posted this brief article: 

“Then Peter, filled with the Holy Spirit, said to them. . .” Acts 4:8

Have you ever noticed that the Bible never records someone saying of themselves, “I am filled with the Holy Spirit,” OR, “I was filled with the Holy Spirit”?

Whenever a reference is made to someone being filled with the Holy Spirit, someone else makes the observation about the person who is/was filled.

This is important, I believe, because any time someone is truly filled with the Spirit of God, all attention is is deferred away from self and onto the things of the Lord.

So, how often are you filled with the Spirit?

 

Something bothered me about the way I worded it, so I deleted the post. Hopefully, you get the point: when you are filled with the Spirit, the LAST person you are thinking about is yourself.

But something else bothered me that led me to delete the post until I could think through it a bit further. I remembered what John said about himself in Revelation 1:10 – “I was in the Spirit on the Lord’s day . . .” Sure, this is different from saying, “I was filled with the Spirit on the Lord’s day,” but still…very similar.

Does John’s saying this about himself totally nullify the point I was trying to make yesterday? I don’t think so for the following reasons:

1. John was by himself on the island of Patmos when he wrote the book of Revelation. He didn’t have anyone to record for him that he was filled with the Spirit.  

2. John was by himself on the island of Patmos when he wrote the book of Revelation. The Spirit inspired him to write that he was ‘in the Spirit,’ so we would know that the book of Revelation was inspired by the Spirit of God Himself.

3. John was by himself on the island of Patmos when he wrote the book of Revelation. The point of yesterday’s (deleted) post was that when we are filled with the Spirit we are overflowing with the love of God on others. John’s way of overflowing with love toward others was to record words that the church has passionately and expectantly held onto for centuries sense.

The point holds: When one is filled with the Spirit of God, they are consumed by a love from God that overflows onto others in a Jesus-servant-like way.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on September 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

