What This Legalistic, Pharisaical Southern Baptist Almost Missed (H)

14 Years Ago Today I Met Kathryn Elizabeth Bellows. . .

It almost didn’t happen.

My cousin, who was a member of the Chi Omega sorority at Auburn (strike one if you are a Legalistic, Pharisaical Southern Baptist) . . .

Wanted to introduce me to a girl in her sorority (strike two. . . because we had tried other friends of hers that just didn’t work out). . .

The girl in her sorority was a Methodist (strike three if you are a Legalistic, Pharisaical Southern Baptist). . .

My cousin told me this girl loved the Lord and was called to the ministry. . . I had my doubts (remember: when you are a Legalistic, Pharisaical Southern Baptist you really don’t think anybody can love God like you do, especially if they don’t run in your same circles!). . .

I said, ‘no thanks.’ . . .

Several times. . .

Until one late afternoon (October 14th, 1997 to be exact) my cousin told me that she and this friend she wanted me to meet were going to eat out for supper.

I said, ‘okay’ (ANY kind of Southern Baptist will NEVER turn down a chance to eat!) . . .

The rest is history.

14 years later and Kathryn Bellows Pearson continues to make me a better person and the Jesus-trusting man (as opposed to the Legalistic, Pharisaical Southern Baptist) He has called me to be. I am so thankful to God that He used (and continues to use!) a Methodist Sorority girl who loves Jesus to whip me into shape.

 

 

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on October 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love it!! Thanks for sharing. Katie is truly a gift from GOD to everyone who knows her.

    Debbie

  2. Hurray for Cousin Jenny and her persistence! Hurray for Katie’s genuine heart and the many ways she has whipped you into shape! However, I don’t know how in the world you became so legalistic and Pharasaical — says your often WAY too legalistic, Pharasaical Momma.

  3. Jackie Teague- a friend of your mother

    Thanks for sharing. I can totally relate to that mindset, and am so glad Jesus set me free from it!!

Leave a Reply

