Jesus is Worth Alot More than My Little Life (R)

David Sitton, in the introduction to Reckless Abandon: A Modern Day Gospel Pioneer’s Exploits Among the Most Difficult to Reach Peoples, writes:

“Risk assumes the possibility of loss and is always determined by the value of the mission. The gospel is so valuable that no risk is unreasonable. Life is gained by laying it down for the gospel. If I live, I win and get to keep on preaching Christ. If I die, I win bigger by going directly to be with Christ and I get to take a few tribes with me.

“I conclude that ‘losing my life’ for the gospel is literally impossible because my years on this earth are worth far less than the value of the eternal gospel. This is what Paul means when he declares: ‘I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me-the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.’

“If this is true, there is no meaningful risk for me as a carrier of the gospel of Christ. If some tribal chief chops my head off, he’s doing me a favor. Think about it. If I get to (not have to) lay down my life in some remote jungle swamp, but God uses my death as an object lesson to turn their eyes to Christ and His name and the gospel gets established among an unreached people group somewhere, that isn’t a bad ‘risk’ for me. I didn’t lose; I won! It was the bargain of a lifetime because Jesus is worth alot more than my little life.”

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment