Favorite Books from 2011 (R)

I love to read. When I think about it, just typing that sentence makes me laugh. I literally used to HATE to read. I still joke with my parents that I graduated high school having read only 2 books: Morris (the Moose) Goes to School (the book my older sister Laura used to teach me to read – she, by the way, came out of mom’s womb knowing how to read) and Bo Knows Bo (any true Auburn fan has read and LOVED this book).

But my hatred toward reading changed while I was at Auburn. God (only He could do this miracle) changed my attitude toward books and reading. He literally gave me an insatiable hunger to read and read and read and read. Now, if I have a spare minute, I am doing everything I can to read. As a matter of fact, if it weren’t for the Kindle App on my iPad, our budget for 2011 would look good. It’s just too easy to purchase books now. The ‘Just One Click’ tab gets me EVERY time!

Having said that, let me encourage you – if you just really do not like to read – to ask God to give you a desire to read. He will. You will benefit from reading. God has been kind to gift so many wise and Spirit-filled authors to be used as a means of ‘iron sharpening iron’ for one another.

Here are a few of my favorite reads from 2011 (in no particular order EXCEPT for the first one):

#1 – King’s Cross: The Story of the World in the Life of Jesus by Tim Keller. I just finished reading this book for the 2nd time this year and am going through it a third time with the WBC pastoral staff team. Seriously, it’s good. If you select one book from the list below to read, pick this one.

Ordering Your Private World by Gordon MacDonald. MacDonald is a GREAT author and for those like me who want to be more disciplined in their private world, this book is a must.

Axiom: Powerful Leadership Proverbs by Bill Hybels. I became a Hybels fan in 2011. This book is a major reason why. Tremendous work and extremely helpful for ignorant leaders like me.

Onward: How Starbucks Fought for Its Life Without Losing Its Soul by Howard Schultz. If you like coffee read this book. If you love Starbucks, drink that while you read it. If you are a leader, read this book. If you are all 3 – click above and order this book NOW.

The Secret: What Great Leaders Know and Do by Ken Blanchard and Mark Miller. Easy read and interesting way to right about serving those you lead to help them excel in what they are called to do.

Tempted and Tried: The Temptation and Triumph of Christ by Russell Moore. Russell Moore is another unique and fascinating author who has been tremendously gifted to exegete and communicate deep truths from Scripture.

Wooden on Leadership by John Wooden. Enough said. I love basketball and need to learn as much as possible on leadership. This book was fun and helpful.

Bringing the Gospel Home: Witnessing to Family Members, Close Friends, and Those You Know Well by Randy Newman. Newman offers some very practical advice on how to share Christ with those whom you love and care for deeply, but have a hard time ‘getting through.’

How Lucky Can You Be: The Story of Coach Don Meyer by Buster Olney. Great story about a great coach.

Practicing Affirmation: God Centered Praise of Those Who are Not God by Sam Crabtree. This book will prompt you to encourage and praise others in a way that is pleasing to God and helpful to others. Also a very practical book that offers tons of suggestions to help cultivate an attitude of affirmation.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

