The Secret to Honoring Wives

Yep. It has taken me nearly 35 years of living and over 12 years of marriage.

But I figured out it out: The Secret to Honoring Your Wife. Yep. I did.

Sunday morning after I preached from 1 Peter 3:17 about honoring wives, the oddest thing happened. A particular man approached me with tears and said, “that message hit me right between the eyes.” Now understand – I received many comments Sunday, especially women, thanking me 🙂 . I had several men tell me how they needed to hear it. But this was different. This particular gentleman has been married to his wife well over half a century. The way he and his wife look at each other reveals deep love and tender affection. As a matter of fact, had you asked me before the sermon to pick one man who did not need the sermon – it would have been this godly man. But he was broken that he treated his wife with such disrespect. My jaw dropped when he spoke.

That’s when it hit me what the secret was. You ready? Here it is: The secret to honoring your wife is to never assume you’ve ever honored her enough. It’s always trying to out-honor your own honoring of your wife. This godly man was broken because he felt as if he had fallen so short of rightly honoring his spouse. From MY perspective, he was a professional. But that’s it: a professional never stops trying to master his area of expertise (how many Super Bowls will this be for Tom Brady next week? isn’t he a professional?). This gentleman never assumed he had properly shown her the honor she deserves.

That, I believe, is the secret: Never assume you have properly shown your wife the honor she deserves.

The truth is, we husbands will never properly show her the honor she deserves. But recognizing that and striving to is honor.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on January 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

