“Have a Good Day, Son”

“I will.”

Two words my six year old son said back to me yesterday morning as he and his brother headed off to school. There was no doubt. . . none at all . . . that he would have a good day.

Whether or not his day was going to be full of goodness was not an option. His day was going to be good. Period.

I thought about my approach to the beginning of the day. Would today be a good day? What do I need God to do for me today to ensure I have a good day?

I might have a good day if I didn’t have to . . .

It’s probably not going to be so good because . . .

I’m not looking forward to today because . . .

My son never doubted that he would be taken care of, provided for, and loved unconditionally by those who most wanted what is best for him. Thus, why wouldn’t he have a good day?

I think this is yet another reason Jesus says to turn and be like a little child. Children always have a good day.

David wrote in Psalm 16: “The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup; You hold my lot. The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance. . . I have set the LORD always before me; because He is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being rejoices; my flesh also dwells secure. For You will not abandon my soul to Sheol, or let your holy one see corruption.”

Based on who the LORD is for us, we can hear Him say, “Have a good day, son.”

How will you respond?

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

