Confession: “I Hate Jumping on Trampolines!!!!”

I just got back to the office from undergoing my first ever MRI.

Do you know why I had an MRI? Because the doctor thinks I tore my meniscus. I didn’t even know I had one. . .

Do you know how I tore my meniscus? By jumping on the trampoline with my 6 year old son Luke. 

And do you know what? I don’t even like jumping on the trampoline. In fact, I hate jumping on that thing. Think about it: Where did it get me? On my back for 45 minutes in a hospital – which would not have been so bad were I not listening to somebody using a jack-hammer inside the machine I was encased in!

You know what I thought? “I’m never jumping on that bloomin’ trampoline again! I don’t like it anyway!”

I mean, I don’t know WHY Luke wants me to jump with him EVERY SINGLE DAY. I can’t do flips. I’m too tall and fat to jump hard. I can’t throw them in the air (their mom would panic!). I just jump with him. Up and down. Down and up. Up and down. So, I determined that I would never get on that springy-accident-waiting-to-happen-mass-of-frustration again.

I also thought (well, I couldn’t sleep – the guy with the jack-hammer was WAY too loud!) about why in the world Seth wants ME to throw baseball with him . . . EVERY SINGLE DAY! I’m not a good pitcher. I don’t know how to help him swing a bat right. I don’t have any cool stories of hitting a homer in the bottom of the ninth or pitching a shut out game. I never even played organized baseball. I just pitch with him. That’s all. Back and forth. Forth and back. Back and forth.

Then it hit me (no, not the guy with the jack-hammer. . . the wonderful ‘thought for the day I am about to type!) – Luke and Seth don’t care what kind of hops I have on the trampoline or what kind of heat I put on a baseball. They just want to be with ME.

They want me.

Okay, I take it back – I love trampolines.

What do you need to stop doing today so you can just be with your kids? Don’t worry. . . they just want you.

[I was thinking along these lines due to an article I read here. . . GREAT article for parents, especially for moms.]

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on April 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. David and Connie Weaver

    wait till they get older then they will want you to shoot with them! David and Daniel are in the back yard- target practice with a 22!

Leave a Reply

