Anything You Want – You Got It!

Quick! Someone – anyone – guess what I have withheld from our little girl if she asked for it??

You betcha: N-O-T-H-I-N-G.

If she wanted it, she has gotten it.

“Want me to hold you (you should see her lift her arms and look at me)?” You got it.

“Again?” You got it.

“Want me to lift you up so you can touch the ceiling?” No problem. How many times do you want to?

“You want some candy?” As much as you want. 

“More?” Here.

More?” Here.

“Want to see my video camera and phone?” They are yours. Take ’em.

“Want me to push you on the swing?” As long as you want to sweetheart. “Longer?” Okay.

I am dead serious. If she wants it, she gets it. Why? Because I LONG to make her happy. I LOVE to see her smile. I am her daddy and I love HER. I have found myself living to give to her.

Consider that and now consider what Jesus says about prayer:

“What father among you, if his son asks for a fish, will instead of a fish give him a serpent; or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the heavenly Father give good things to those who ask Him!” (See Matthew 7:9-11 and Luke 11:11-13)

According to Jesus I am evil – YET I graciously and abundantly give my daughter ANYTHING she asks for. My love for her is HUGE, but tainted and limited.

God’s love for us is unlimited, eternal, perfect, and full.

If you are ‘in Christ’ – you have been adopted into His family.

What have you asked Him for today? What else? Is that all? Keep asking.

He lives to give.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on May 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

