I Will Not Leave You as Orphans

“I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.” John 14:18

I have always wondered about this promise Jesus made to His disciples. I understood that He meant He was going to the cross, going to be buried for 3 days, rise from the dead, and then appear to them. I tracked with that. But why did Jesus call them orphans?

I had always wondered about it. But I didn’t seriously contemplate it until these very words came out of my mouth to precious little girl in Ethiopia last Thursday afternoon. I know why I said it. But why did Jesus call the disciples orphans???

The extended version of my attempt to answer this can be listened to or watched here. It was the focus of my sermon this past Sunday morning at Wynne Baptist.

But let me share briefly here why I think Jesus chose this word:

The ultimate reason Jesus came was to restore humanity into a perfect and rich and loving and intimate and personal and free and satisfying and joy filled relationship with God the Father. In other words, to fix what became broken in the Garden of Eden between man and God. Jesus came to make a way for father-less humans (orphans) to be brought into a rich relationship with THE Father. Jesus could have said, “I will not leave you as condemned sinners, but will make you righteous.” He could have said, “I will not leave you guilty, but will come and make you guilt-less.” Or, “I will not leave you as spiritually dead, but will come to give you life.” He could have said all of these things and been right to say them. But He called them orphans. He did so because that was ultimate. Sure, they needed to be righteous and forgiven and guilt-less and alive. But why? In order to remove all hindrances between them and God.

Our little girl is legally ours. She is a Pearson. But right now she is sitting in an orphanage awaiting us to come and get her and shower her with a lifetime of abundant love.

We don’t have to wait for this kind of relationship with God. Jesus has already done it all. The love of God is yours to richly enjoy.

Are you legally his child (believing the facts of the Gospel) while sitting in a spiritual orphanage on the other side of the world?

Or, do you understand and believe that because of all Jesus has done now gives you the freedom to be a son or daughter of God enjoying His love for you?

“For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, that He might bring us to God.” 1 Peter 3:18

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great post, Matt. The Christian faith takes on a whole new meaning when you really stop and think about what it means to be adopted in a spiritual sense. I’ll be praying for you and your family — especially your little girl, as you wait to be together.

Leave a Reply

