How Do You Know?? Part Three

Every follower of Jesus desires to know God’s will.

Is this the one I should marry?

Do you want me and my family to move?

What church should I join?

Do I take this job or stay where I am?

Which ministry should I support financially?

Should we have another biological child or adopt?

Which mission trip should I go on this year?

Ford or Chevy?

Diet Coke or Coke Zero?

Gaither’s or Gungor?

Is it a sin to hate the University of Alabama?

To do this, I believe there are specific steps we can take to discern what He wants for/from us. Monday, I suggested that the very first item of business is to evaluate your heart and determine to be open to the Spirit’s leading. Yesterday I stated the obvious by encouraging you to simply ask your Father expectantly to make His will known.

Today I want to share another obvious, but I fear (at least in my own life) an often overlooked ‘already revealed’ will of God for His children. What I mean is, often we make it harder than it really is. God has made it plain what He wants us to give ourselves to. Our main responsibility is to enjoy being who God made us while doing what He has already said do.

What do I mean?

Before Jesus ascended into heaven He told us what we are to give ourselves to. In Matthew 28:19 He said, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations. . . ” In Acts 1:8 He said, “. . . and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

Very clear: Be busy making disciples of Jesus. 

This is the will of God for each of His followers. Period.

So, after you have determined to be open to the Spirit’s leading and after you have prayed expectantly for your loving Father to show you – the next step is to ask a very simple, yet important, question:“Considering how God has wired me, will doing this put me in the best position possible to most effectively make disciples of Jesus?”

It IS His will for you to make disciples of all nations. Carefully thinking through the implications of this question, I believe, will propel you forward to knowing His will for your life.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. David Baggett

    It is clearly NOT a sin to hate UAT….It is a requirement!

  2. So glad you are writing your thoughts on this subject! We ALL need reminders of how to live and breathe in order to fullfill His mission for us on this earth! I am praying we (individually and as a church) will focus on our Father and His great mercy and not place our focus on man.

  1. Pingback: How Do You Know?? Part Four « The HEART of Pastor Matt

  2. Pingback: How Do You Know?? Part Five « The HEART of Pastor Matt

  3. Pingback: Now THAT’s a Good Question! « Intentional Pastoring

Leave a Reply

