How Do You Know?? Part Four

When trying to discern the will of God:

First, determine in your heart to be open to the Spirit’s leading.

Second, ask your loving Father with an expectant heart.

Third, pursue the primary will of God that has already been revealed in His Word.

After these, the next step is to look for cues. What I mean is to look for how God is answering your prayers that you prayed expectantly (Part Two). If you have prayed with faith, believe God is alive and at work, and believe He WANTS to make His will known to you – then you will look for how He is working to lead one way or another.

The main way God does this? Through His Word. There is absolutely, positively no doubt in my mind that if you are open to the Spirit’s leading, expectantly praying, dead set on making disciples of Jesus, and regularly/systematically reading His Word – HE WILL DIRECT YOU IN THE WAY YOU SHOULD GO!

But don’t put all your eggs in my doubtless mind. Put them in the Word itself: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

Does God use circumstances? Yes.

Does God use people in your life? Yes.

Does God use cloud formations in the sky? Not sure.

But every ‘sign’ you may or may not see around you MUST be confirmed and/or established by His Word. This is how God has chosen to speak to His children. This is how we know His heart. We can know about Him through creation (Psalm 19:1 and Romans 1:19-20). We can KNOW HIM, however, through His Word.

An example of this happened recently in my life as I was seeking the Lord’s will for me/my family regarding the position at FBC El Dorado. I had gone to by dad for prayer and counsel. The morning before I needed to decide whether to stay in Wynne or go to El Dorado, my dad made some suggestions and asked some important questions that seriously intrigued me. The next morning (the day I needed to decide) I walked to where I read my Bible every morning asking the Lord to speak to me from His Word. My Bible reading had me in Proverbs 23 (I try to read a Proverb every day, coinciding with the day of the month and the chapter in Proverbs). You know what verse 22 says in Proverbs 23? “Listen to your father who gave you life. . .”

Now let me ask you: When a child desperately needs his father for something, do you think any decent father would try to confuse or frustrate his child? No. God knew His child (me) was desperate to hear from Him regarding a huge decision I needed to make. The Father, my loving heavenly Father, knew the conversation I had had with my earthly father. He knew what Proverb I would be reading that morning (it was April 23rd). When I read the verse, His Spirit spoke to directly to my spirit.

I knew what God was calling me to do.

Look for cues. He WILL make straight your paths.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on June 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow! That gave me chills! I’ve been following your blog and I have been blessed by it. I can’t wait to meet your family in person. We are praying for you all and for FBC and WBC during this time of transition. See you Friday!

  1. Pingback: How Do You Know?? Part Five « The HEART of Pastor Matt

  2. Pingback: Now THAT’s a Good Question! « Intentional Pastoring

Leave a Reply

