Lessons Learned While Pastoring WBC

Last Sunday was my last as pastor of Wynne Baptist Church. I can honestly say that I have absolutely LOVED serving as pastor here. Though I am both thrilled and excited to move to FBC El Dorado, AR next week, I will miss WBC terribly and always give thanks to the Lord for them.

Sunday night I offered to those in attendance lessons learned. When first composed, the lessons numbered 30. I then reduced/combined them to 20. Finally, I cut the number down to 17.

You can listen or watch the ‘message’ here.

The 17 lessons are:

1.    Ministry is about people.

2.    A title don’t mean squat.

3.    Pastorin’ ain’t just preachin’.

4.    Counsel is crucial.

5.    Tiny acts are HUGE.

6.    Missions can involve the majority.

7.    There ain’t NOTHING like Sunday night church at Wynne Baptist.

8.    One size does NOT fit all (every church has a culture).

9.    Parenting matters.

10.  Staff matters. 

11.  Membership matters.

12.  Pastor led and pastor loved churches are rare.

13.  Everyone has issues.

14.  It’s possible to love programs more than Jesus.

15.  The spirit of the pastor’s wife can make or break the entire ministry.

16.  Be yourself.

17.  Unconditional love is real. 

The picture at the top of this post was taken at the close of the service Sunday night. At the direction of Tim McNatt and the pastor search committee that brought me to Wynne 7 years ago, the congregation gathered around the Pearson family, laid hands on us, and commissioned us to go.

Thank you, Wynne Baptist. We love you.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on June 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the past seven years, for letting God lead you in teaching us His word. You and your family has been there for our family in more ways than you will ever know. Thank you for the inspiration you have been for Wil, the encouragement you gave him to do what God was leading him to do. He has matured so much in his walk with God and I am so thankful for that. I know you are doing what God is leading you to do and as hard as it is for us to let go, we have to. You will always be a part of us!!! Love always, Judy

  2. Rusty McClain

    We dearly Love you and your family, you will be GREATLY missed. We pray for great things to come, both for WBC and FBC El Dorado. Thank You for all you have done for our church, my family, and me personally…you are a true friend. Praise The Lord

  3. I am a firm believer that God puts certain people in your life at certain times to help shape who you are. Matt, you are one of those people in my life. If I had written Hebrews, you would have been in my Chapter 11. You have done so much for me to help me grow spiritually. You have inspired me, taught me and molded me to be a better follower of Christ. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your service to God at Wynne Baptist Church. I am so thankful to have been able to call you my pastor, but more than that, I am even more thankful to have called you my friend. God bless you and your family!! (P.S. When your first book is done, and I know you will have one, I want a signed copy!)

  4. Sandra Wallace

    You have only been my pastor for a short time, but it seems to me we are kindred souls. You have a sense of humor and a way of looking at the world the Lord has made that is definitely different, but I love it!! You have blessed me and I will never forget you!! May you and your family continue to grow in the Lord and grow in size as well. There are always children out there who need a good home and 2 wonderful parents and they may need the help of 2 GREAT brothers too!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

