I Just THOUGHT I Was Busy!

Have you ever looked back over previous years of your life and thought to yourself, “And I thought I didn’t have any time back then!?!?”?

I have been thinking about this a lot. A week ago today I sent a text to my mom that said something along the lines of, “Just found out I need a root canal, and – by the way – we sold our house in Wynne today.” Her reply, “Welcome to adulthood, son.”

Since last Friday, I received a call from Seth’s soccer coach that they will begin practicing two days a week starting next Tuesday; Birtukan’s first gymnastics practice in the books; and Luke’s first of (probably) numerous Boy Scout meetings concluded last night around 7:30.

Welcome to adulthood. And I just thought I wanted to hurry up and get out of college so I could be an adult! What was I smoking (I really wasn’t smoking, mom – it is just a figure of speech)?

We (Katie and me) thought we were busy with no kids. We thought we were busy with one kid. We thought we were crazy busy with two kids. Last month we thought we were busy with three kids. Now, we think we are busy with three kids – all of which are now involved in ‘extra’ activities (extra – outside of school and church). And, I assume, if you are a parent of teenagers reading this, you are probably thinking – “You ain’t seen nothin’ yet Pearson!”

My point? Life is always going to be and/or seem busy.

I needed this reminder from Jesus yesterday:

“Now as they went on their way, Jesus entered a village. And a woman named Martha welcomed him into her house. And she had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet and listened to his teaching. But Martha was distracted with much serving. And she went up to Him and said, ‘Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me to serve alone? Tell her to help me.’ But the Lord answered her, ‘Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which  will not be taken away from her.'” (Luke 10:38-42)

ONE THING IS NECESSARY.

Holy cow. What an incredible thing to say!

Life will always be and/or seem busy. Job. Church. School. Marriage. Kids. Boy Scouts. Soccer. Gymnastics. Auburn Football. Email. Feed the dog. Feed the fish. Mow the grass. Drink a Diet Dr. Pepper. But only one thing is necessary. Jesus doesn’t mean forget everything else. No. He means following, listening, and obeying Him in the midst of life is THE necessity.

So, how are you doing at hearing Him before, during, and after everything? I know two things for sure: (1) life won’t get any ‘less busy;’ and (2) only one thing is necessary. Are you doing that ONE thing?

 

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great words, Matt… Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. You ain’t seen nothin’ yet, Pearson. 🙂

  3. WOW! You really are busy. AND it’s going to get worse! LOL
    Thanks for the good Word!!

  4. Thanks for that. I admit, I tend to get overwhelmed by the stresses of a busy life… And I don’t even have kids yet. LOL. The Lord always reminds me…

    “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be provided for you.” – Matt 6:33.

    It calms me down knowing that as long as I keep Him central in my life, He will take care of the rest (or at least show me how).

  5. That is so true. But in a blink of an eye they will all be grown and you will be sitting around wishing they were small again. I know I sure do. Miss y’all in wynne!!!

  6. Your honest, openness about your own life and struggles is truly an inspiration! Thanks for the thoughtful thoughts to ponder.

  7. Wow, what a great reminder that I needed to hear. I am right there with you….swanped with activities, and practices, and football games, etc…and I’ve only got two kids : ) Thanks for your consistent transparency here…you are an encouragement.

  8. Richard McClendon

    Hello Matt, I think that I can help you out on the busy schedule. Just drop the Auburn football, they may not win any games and that will free you up some.

    Your brother in Christ. Richard

    ________________________________

  9. ARKANSAS football. Yes welcome to adulthood!! We miss you.

    Debbie C.

Leave a Reply

