Quickening Quotes

I LOVE to read. I know this is nerdy, but when asked what my hobbies are or what I like to do in my free time – READING is the first thing that comes to my mind.

“Books don’t change lives, sentences do.” I am not sure who said this, but it is true. I like books and I like chapters and I like paragraphs. But I LOVE looking for sentences that are mind-shaping.

Consider the following quotes that I came across this week:

“There is a 100-percent chance that you will die.” 

Mark Cahill from One Thing You Can’t Do in Heaven

 

“Ironically, the holy God who is justly offended by human sin is also the One who works to bring us salvation.”

George Guthrie from Reading God’s Story: A Chronological Daily Bible

 

“For so many churches, despite what they say, follow-up is simply not a priority. The things which are highest on your priority list are the things that get done. If it’s not getting done, it’s not high enough on the priority list. No excuses, that’s just the way it is.”

Brian Davis from Retention 101

 

Billy Graham was asked, “Looking back, what is the one thing you would change about your life if you could?” 

He answered, “I would have spent more time with my family.”

Here.

 

“The Budweiser ads say a real friend doesn’t let a friend drive drunk. At Auburn University, we always said that a real friend doesn’t let a friend go to Alabama! And the God of this universe says: A real friend doesn’t let a friend go to Hell. A real friend tells a friend about Jesus!

 

Mark Cahill from One Thing You Can’t Do in Heaven

 

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on September 20, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Richard McClendon

    Hello Matt,      As always, enjoyed your message, but you did make one error.  A good friend would send you to Alabama or Arkansas, and not , can not spell that word.

    Richard

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

