A First On The Blog . . .

And a first for Matt Pearson. . . Ever.

I want to commend to the readers of this blog (as I did to the staff here at FBC yesterday) some words from . . . Nick . . . um . . .uh. . . Nick Saban. There. I said it.

Yes, I know. Shocking. If you are reading this on a handheld device or tablet I hope you didn’t break it when you just dropped it.

Like him or not (and I think we ALL know where I am), one is FORCED to admit that the man can coach football and lead one of the most elite football programs in the country (behind Auburn of course).

While reading an article by Kevin Scarbinsky this week I read something Coach Saban said that struck a chord with me regarding my own life personally and the way I lead the staff and church body God has entrusted to my care.

Scarbinsky wrote how the Alabama hero believes his team is beatable despite its 5-0 start that drastically separates the program from every other football team in the country.

The Saban quote that got me was this:

“We have a long ways to go as a football team, I feel, to improve to be just as good as we can be. That doesn’t mean we’re better than everybody else. I’m just talking about just be as good as we can be.”

This sheds light on his leadership philosophy (any John Wooden fans out there, I think, will find this remarkably familiar). Saban isn’t so much focused on being better than other teams. He is focused on being the best team THEY can be. Their opponents aren’t other teams. Their opponents are their own flaws and shortcomings. Saban’s goal is for them to get beyond their own weaknesses and play to their highest potential as a team.

This is huge.

How often do I just try to be a better Christian than the next guy?

How often do I want the church I pastor to just be better than that other church?

How often do I sell myself short just because I want to ‘get by’ in order to be a little bit better than the others?

Wrong approach.

Way too often I simply try to compare and be better than others instead of diligently striving to be the best I can be at . . . me.

Remember what Jesus told Peter when he wanted a predication comparable to John? “What is that to you? You follow Me!” (See John 21:20-22)

There’s something freeing about striving to be the best Matt Pearson God made. There’s also something freeing about striving to lead a group of people to be the best version of US God made. I don’t have to waste my life trying to be better than others. I just focus my attention on being the best me I can be.

Thanks Nick. As much as I hate to admit it, I think I’ll try it.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on October 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. WOW! That is good!

  2. Well said Dr. P, well said. Coach Wooden would be proud!

  3. Thanks, Matt, knowing you bleed orange and blue and your heritage is deeply rooted in Auburn, this was a true act of humility and courage for you to share this:). I appreciate your words, and once again I am struck by the fact that GOD uses men who don’t know HIM ( I don’t think Nick Saban is probably a Christian) to accomplish HIS plans and purposes…. One of which is to inspire those young men to be the best they can be on the field and inspire us to walk closer with CHRIST through your post. Thank you so much for sharing what CHRIST shared with you….my heart has been challenged to do my best in the strength and power of my Lord JESUS.

  4. Richard McClendon

    Well said, my good and faithful Master.

    Richard

    ________________________________

  5. Oh my goodness I haven’t been on here in a while an am catching up… Bet this one hurt didn’t it?! 😉

Leave a Reply

