Quickening Quotes

It’s that time of the week again – where I post some quotes that have ‘quickened’ my mind and heart during the previous 7 days.

The first should be called ‘Quickening Questions.’ Trevin Wax observed that oftentimes, those who are Pro-Life get asked difficult questions while those who are Pro-Choice aren’t asked anything. He poses 10 questions he wished would be asked to those who are Pro-Choice.                                                        

Here are two of the questions he poses:

“If you do not believe that human life begins at conception, when do you believe it begins? At what stage of development should an unborn child have human rights?”

“If a pregnant woman and her unborn child are murdered, do you believe the criminal should face two counts of murder and serve a harsher sentence?”

Yeah, all of them are good. Read them here.

 

“Remember that, by God’s design, we’re worshipers. Worship isn’t first an activity; worship is first our identity. That means everything you and I do and say is the product of worship. So the treasures (things that have risen to levels of importance in our hearts) that rule the thoughts and desires of our hearts will then control the things that we do. The war between these two kingdoms in ministry is not first a war of behavior; it’s a war for the functional, street-level rulership of our hearts.”  Paul David Tripp

 

“I woke up very slowly to the fact that nobody in my organization was going to fight for my family but me. . . I have to fight to show up in decent emotional shape every time I walk through the front door of our home, I have to fight for family vacation time, and I have to fight to integrate them in my ever-increasing travel schedule. In these examples and a thousand others, when it comes to my family, the one and only fighter is me.” Bill Hybels

 

 

“When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars which You have set in place, what is man that You are mindful of him, and the son of man that You care for him?” Psalm 8:3-4

Go ahead. Go outside tonight and look up for about 3 minutes. See if you don’t come to the same conclusion.

About pastormpearson

Follower of Jesus. Husband to Katie. Father to Luke, Seth, and Birtukan. Pastor of the First Baptist Church in El Dorado, Arkansas.

Posted on October 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey Brother. I know this blog was not about abortion but I feel compelled to voice a point of view in what is probably a safe environment. The abortionists want to say abortion is about the “womans right to control her own body”. I agree with that but the “control” or “choice” is made when she “chooses” to have sex. Abortion is treated as a get out of jail free card.

Leave a Reply

